Programming

TIA Portal - Saving the user interface layout

Share

Record of user interface layout

Backup options for the user interface layout

If you make a change to the user interface, it will be retained even after restarting TIA Portal. Changing the layout of the user interface involves, for example, moving the window or adjusting the size of the editor.

In addition to automatically saving the user interface layout, you have the option of manually backing up specific layouts:

  • Save the window layout

You can manually save the TIA Portal window and editor layouts and restore them later. Five window layouts can be called up using a key combination.

Use this function if, for example, you are working with a notebook to which you connect an external monitor if necessary. You can create a window layout for mobile use on a notebook display and another layout for working in the office with an external monitor.

  • Save the layout in the editors

In some editors, you can customise the display. For example, you can adjust the width of the tables or show or hide individual table columns.

Save the window layout

You can save the current window layout to call it up again later in the same form.

Procedure

To save the window layout, follow these steps:

  1. Arrange all the windows as you wish to save them.
  2. In the "Window" menu, select the "Save window layout as" command.

The "Save current window layout as" dialog box opens.

  1. In the "Name" field, enter a name for the window layout.
  2. In the "Description" field, enter a description of the window layout so that you can identify the window layout more easily later.
  3. Click "Save".

Result

The new window layout will be saved in the last position after the existing saved window layouts. The first five window layouts can be called up using the key combination.

Load a window layout

If you have already saved a window layout, you can load it, which will allow you to quickly adapt your working environment to the relevant conditions. You can load the first five window layouts using quick access via the 'Window' menu or by using a key combination.

If you load a window layout and then make changes to the window layout, you can restore the originally saved window layout.

Using quick access to load window layouts from 1 to 5

To load one of the first five saved window layouts, follow these steps:

  1. In the "Window" menu, select a window layout or select the key combination .

Loading additional window layouts

To load a window layout that is not among the first five window layouts, follow these steps:

  1. In the "Window" menu, select the "Additional window layouts" command.

The "Manage all window layouts" dialog box opens.

  1. Select the desired window layout.
  2. Click OK".

Restore window layout

To return to the saved window layout, follow these steps:

  1. In the "Window" menu, select the "Restore window layout" command or select the key combination.
Management of window layouts

You can do the following on existing window layouts:

  • Changing the order of window layouts

The order of the window layouts is important, as the first five window layouts can be called up directly via the 'Window' menu and a key combination.

  • Select a window layout

If the window layout is not one of the first five window layouts, you can call it up using the 'Manage all window layouts' dialog.

  • Removal of window layouts

Procedure

To manage existing window layouts, follow these steps:

  1. From the "Options" menu, select "Settings".

The TIA Portal settings are displayed.

  1. In the area navigation, go to the entry "General > Manage all window layouts".
  2. Select a window layout.

The selected window layout is immediately activated.

  1. Click the "Up" or "Down" symbol to move the window layout up or down.
  2. Click the "Delete" symbol to delete the selected window layout.
Saving the layout of editors and tables

You have the option of customising the editors and tables according to your requirements. For example, you can hide unnecessary columns in the tables. You can then save your customised view.

Procedure

To save the layout of editors and tables in the workspace, follow these steps:

  1. Customise the editor or table to your requirements.
  2. Click the 'Save window settings' button in the editor or table.

Result

The layout has been saved. When you open the editor or table again, this layout will be used.

Resetting the user interface layout

Every change made to the layout of the user interface is saved. The changes are therefore available even after restarting TIA Portal. For example, if you change the height and width of the text editor or the table division, the changes are saved so that you do not have to readjust the elements each time.

In some cases, however, it may be helpful to restore the original layout settings; for example, if another user prefers a different UI layout.

Procedure

To reset the user interface settings to the default settings, follow these steps:

  1. From the "Options" menu, select "Settings".

The "Settings" window will be displayed in the work area.

  1. In the area navigation, select the "General" group.
  2. Click the "Restore defaults" button under "Restore defaults > Editor layout".

Result

The default user interface settings will be restored.

Share
Recommended course!
Until 20.09.2022 rebate -15% on:

SIMATIC S7 in action

Sign up for the newsletter!
Author of entries
Tomasz Gilewski

Hello, my name is Tomasz Gilewski. I am the author of books on the S7-1200 controller and HMI panels (i.e. Siemens hardware). I have been programming exclusively on Siemens hardware and engineering tools for several years.

Leave a Comment

Select currency
Scroll to Top

Search on